Tell a Friend | Reviews A to Z


Reviews and Product Ratings

Review this product.


Company Name



Product Claims


Average Retail Value
$ (prices may vary)


Similar Products
Body Rider | OrbiTrek | OrbiTrek Platinum | OrbiTrek Pro | Tread Climber


Consumer Reviews

The POS works!

15 May 2008 - Cindy of AR, USA writes:

I have been using the Cardio Cruiser everyday since Jan 2nd . The loud squeak began on the second day, the tension knob only made the squeak worse. So I was able to get used to the squeak, crank up the volume. Today the the pulley and wire burned up/broke (whatever). The parts were seized together, and too hot to touch. So this product works great, but just won't last. If you can tolerate a really loud squeak, and it completely breaking down in 5 months or less, than you're in luck. I am now without an exercise machine, still no stimulus check, and debating on where to spend my exercise dollars today. I've called the Body by Jake people, they basically just said too bad, we can't help you. But I did lose over 60lbs in 5 months, so the friggin thing works! Please make a better, stronger, more quiet model, and I will buy it!


Review Quality: Helpful  (0 votes) | Unhelpful  (6 votes)


Great product

4 May 2008 - Jodi Thompson of Ohio, USA writes:

I love this product. It is a great machine. I have had trouble with my knees. There is no impact on the joints. Smooth cruising. Thanks Jake!


Review Quality: Helpful  (3 votes) | Unhelpful  (3 votes)


Best by far

3 Apr 2008 - Curtes Cumberbatch of Staten Island, USA writes:

UPDATE: I have a Cardio Cruiser which I bought in Trindad and Tobago. This is the easiest way to stay in shape. And I love it. Please send and tell me where to get the strap at the bottom, if I am to replace it in the near future.I truly love my CC. and wouldn't like to be without it for too long.


Review Quality: Helpful  (6 votes) | Unhelpful  (2 votes)


Not bad for body b y jake

1 Mar 2008 - beatris of Colorado, USA writes:

in comperison to som eof the other equipment pieces by body by jake this one is better made yes the space between the seat and back rest is a little to far apart making the cardio cruiser a bit uncomfortable but other then that its pretty quite and most of all for the slightly disable folks who cant use equipment like stair masters and gazelles its an excellent and affordable substitute especially if u buy it on ebay.Its also the only equipment who after a week of use allowed me to use stairs without assistance something i couldnt do before.I am not saying its a miracle cure or something but it is quite impressive


Review Quality: Helpful  (5 votes) | Unhelpful  (5 votes)


I Like This Machine

5 Dec 2007 - Brenda of California, USA writes:

I bought this machine recently. I am amazed that I found it and very happy so far that I bought it. The workout is surprisingly effective. It doesn't feel like anything is happening. The exercise is actually very easy and there is no pain or discomfort. You just cruise at varying speeds for 20 minutes. It's when I get off the cruiser that I notice it. That's when I can tell it's working. I'm still new at it, so I've got my share of soreness going on right now. My machine does not squeak at all, but I did notice the pulley getting chewed up - thanks to all of those who posted below. But I don't want to give my machine back, I love it too much. My husband made adjustments and I believe we solved the problem ourselves - which appears to be on the part of the manufacturer. As long as this machine holds up, it is going to be my favorite piece of workout equipment ever. I am getting pretty dramatic results in just a few days considering the amount of effort the exercise requires.


Review Quality: Helpful  (6 votes) | Unhelpful  (7 votes)


Great Machine

1 Oct 2007 - Shelley of Oregon, USA writes:

I bought this product about 2 1/2 years ago or so. I still have it and use it regularly. I have never had a problem with it. I love it. I have back problems so I love it that I can sit down comfortably and workout to my favorite music. My disabled daughter also uses it at times and has had no problems with it at all. I would recommend this product to anyone. It is a great cardio workout. I lost 55 pounds soley by using just this machine in 3 1/2 months. Thanks Jake!


Review Quality: Helpful  (6 votes) | Unhelpful  (7 votes)


Good Concept Lousy Machine.

30 Jun 2007 - Balldez of New York, USA writes:

It is a good idea working your upper and lower body at the same time but the problem is the Cardio Cruiser is poorly made and poorly engineered. The concept is good but the machine itself is junk. [] is blowwing them out for 100 dollars but if they were free I still would not want one.


Review Quality: Helpful  (5 votes) | Unhelpful  (11 votes)


Good workout but a piece of cheap junk in quality.

4 Jun 2007 - June of Washington, USA writes:

I accually loved this until it started to fall apart on me. Within the first three months the tension knob to set how hard you work out broke. About 5 months into using it daily- I was on it and it just broke in two! One of the arms on it fell off where they welded it on and I was on the floor. I was lucky I did not hurt myself! I was out of $200.00 I spent- the warrentee only lasts for 60 days or so. I really did love it- for the workout- but, it is just a piece of you know what as far a quality. that someone I wonder if anyone who actually designed it had used it on a daily basis to see how it would hold up before selling to the public? Guess not!


Review Quality: Helpful  (7 votes) | Unhelpful  (6 votes)


Needs improvement

10 Apr 2007 - Phil of Washington DC, USA writes:

It is not difficult to assemble. It is noisy, but LaBelle Oil, which is plastic compatible, gets rid of most of the noise. The weak point of this is the cable that runs through a pulley. The cable on ours broke after two months. I called, got someone on the telephone, explained the problem and received a replacement part, free. After five weeks, it arrived; we are using the machine, again. The cable will likely break, again. I doubt that they will keep sending me parts. I wonder if most of these firms design these things with the idea that most will never leave the box. Of those that do, most will become clothing racks quickly. I wonder what they do for those of us that actually use these things. We received ours as a gift, so we do not lose the first nickel, if it breaks, again. I do feel bad for the lady who spent money on it.


Review Quality: Helpful  (10 votes) | Unhelpful  (8 votes)


Good for Disabled Persons

24 Jan 2007 - Steve of California, USA writes:

I am disabled after surgury for a tumor in my spinal cord - but I still have some use of my legs. The Cardio Curiser is great for me because I use my arms to train my legs - the arm pulls are connected to the foot pedals. I use elastic bands to tie my feet on the foot pedals and the built-in heal cups keep my feet in place. I cruise 15 to 20 minutes a day, three to four days a week, as a part of my exercise program. I am fit and well-conditioned. Jake could improve the padding on the seat and offer elastic foot straps as options for disabled persons. Overall, I am pleased with the product.


Review Quality: Helpful  (10 votes) | Unhelpful  (5 votes)


Too noisy

5 Jan 2007 - Cindi of Hawaii, USA writes:

This equipment has the major squeaks! The workout is good. I log higher cardio readings on this than when I walk around the track but... the noise. When you increase the resistance it majorly squeaks and it IS a big irritation. I even contacted the Body By Jake people and they said use lubricant. I know this, but what kind and where?!?!? Believe me, there is no lubricant that works. I tried 'em all because I want the low impact high cardio workout, but the noise is keeping me away. My husband rolls his eyes when I jump on the thing – not very motivating. When I do it before the kids get up, I end up waking them up. The squeak is that loud. Don't recommend.


Review Quality: Helpful  (16 votes) | Unhelpful  (5 votes)


Cardio Cruiser

5 Nov 2006 - Katie of Pennsylvania, USA writes:

This product is terrible, I just tried using it today and only 10 minutes in the tension cord got so hot it snapped, the room smells like burned rubbed and the metal was almost to hot to touch. Do not buy this product! I have another body by jake product comming and am afraid of what to expect.


Review Quality: Helpful  (7 votes) | Unhelpful  (9 votes)


can't handle the noise

27 Aug 2006 - Yvonne of Hawaii, USA writes:

I purchased the Cardio Cruiser several months ago. From day one, it has had squeaky noises from several places. I was hoping to obtain a remedy on-line but it appears that WD40 and other lubricants are not effective. I would be nice if Jake himself addressed this problem since he's the only one who is getting any worth from this product. Also, the Cardio Cruiser seems a little flimsy but I am a small woman, so that is not a big concern. My only remedy against the noise is to turn up the volume on my stereo.


Review Quality: Helpful  (8 votes) | Unhelpful  (5 votes)


Headache Cruiser

22 Aug 2006 - Damon of Bridgetown, Barbados writes:

Hi there, I'm joining the list of consumers that have used this product, and are concerned about the loud squeeks that come from the product's main frame. I have to perform a major maintenance on the machine every two to three uses. Its ridiculous! The handle bars are very wobbly, even if you try to excessively tighten the nuts (which, by the way, goes against the manufacture's instructions) This machine is a total waste of money, a guaranteed headache and is sure to be a new dust catcher in your home.


Review Quality: Helpful  (4 votes) | Unhelpful  (8 votes)


Not worth the money

22 Aug 2006 - Anonymous of California, USA writes:

I was a bit happy with the machine at first as I had started to see some results on my stomach, but the noise is aweful and my husband had to adjust the nob because it would not provide any resistance; I noticed that there are black shreds on the floor and today the black cable broke. I wish I had found this site prior to purchasing, as it's certainly not worth the money. They should provide everyone with a better machine or a refund as it is not ethically correct to pass off poorly designed equipment as something good for the individual. Final words, do not waste your money!


Review Quality: Helpful  (12 votes) | Unhelpful  (6 votes)


Please save your $$

12 May 2006 - Sylvia of Florida, USA writes:

This machine sucks. It's WAY too noisy, there's always a problem with the parts, and the "cusioned" seat hurts my butt. Also, make sure you don't pay $300 or $400 for this crap, if so, not only are you paying for crap, you're paying too much since it's $200 on some website (sorry, I forgot which one). You're better off buying a Gazelle glider machine.


Review Quality: Helpful  (10 votes) | Unhelpful  (5 votes)


Worthless Hunk Of Metal

22 Mar 2006 - SusAnn of Idaho, USA writes:

When it arrived, the plastic foot rest was broken, called for a replacement, over a month and still hasn't arrived. Tried using it w/o the foot pedal once and the weld holding the pulley broke, husband fixed that, the resistance didn't work and the non-functioning pulley rubbed the rubber off the cable, which then ripped plastic off the pulley causing it to break. I'm real disappointed in it. I haven't even been able to use it for 5 minutes due to the pulley mechanism malfunctioning.


Review Quality: Helpful  (7 votes) | Unhelpful  (6 votes)


So far so good

2 Mar 2006 - Niko of Washington, USA writes:

I've been using the Cardio Cruiser for about 3 weeks now. It's great for a low impact, fast workout, especially with music. Though I'm only 5'2" and 125 lbs., I keep the allen wrench and white grease gun handy, since one screw (bottom right) always loosens and there are various squeaks, especially when the equipment gets "hot" (about 20 minutes of vigorous activity). Already this week I decided to remove the handlebars and just use dumbbells for more of an upper body workout. As long as the machine holds up, I think it will do what I hoped: burn calories and increase cardio fitness. Strength and flexibility exercises are better left to weights and yoga.


Review Quality: Helpful  (7 votes) | Unhelpful  (5 votes)


Save your money and sanity

6 Feb 2006 - Don of California, USA writes:

If you are thinking of buying a Cardio Cruiser think again. As stated in the other reviews it is extrememly noisy and does not give an adequate workout. We had ours for less than 2 weeks before the tension wheel broke. Calling for a replacement part means you will wait on the phone for at least 30 minutes before talking to a real person, that is unless they disconnect you after you have been waiting 15-20 minutes. When replacement arrived it was the WRONG part. Again on the phone. Finally they got it right but within another week the cable breaks! Have had another Body by Jake machine and we should have known better as that one broke continuously also. If you need a piece of exercise equipment you should probably steer clear of anything made by Jake until they get their quality control in order.


Review Quality: Helpful  (8 votes) | Unhelpful  (5 votes)


24 Jan 2006 - Lexi of Washington, USA writes:

I bought my cardio cruiser about a month ago. It was pretty easy to assemble. When I first worked out with it, I received a decent workout but I noticed the tension knob did not work very well and the machine seemed a little unstable (especially the handlebars). After about a week using it, the machine started to squeak really loud. I put some cooking spray on the bolts (didn't have an WD40 at the time) and it seemed to temporarily fix the problem. This machine gives an ok workout if you are a fitness beginner and you don't mind the squeaking. I have recently disassembled it and it's sitting in my garage. It would have been too much of a hassle for me..it's a somewhat heavy machine for my size and probably would have cost me around $50 to return it). For those of you who want to buy it...wait until I have my next garage sale (I'll be happy with $20 for it).


Review Quality: Helpful  (9 votes) | Unhelpful  (5 votes)


Page 1 2











0) { ?>
Merchant Price*  

*prices may vary




Home | Advertise | Product Request | Blog | Press Room | Contact Terms