Tell a Friend | Reviews A to Z


Reviews and Product Ratings

Review this product.


Company Name



Product Claims


Average Retail Value
$ (prices may vary)


Similar Products
OrbiTrek Platinum | OrbiTrek Pro


Consumer Reviews

If breaks contact U.S. Consumer Product Safety Com

17 Feb 2009 - M of CO, USA writes:

If the pedal breaks like it did on me (got a nice limp for a few days) contact the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. This product should be recalled. Should not be on the market if it is hurting people.


Review Quality: Helpful  (9 votes) | Unhelpful  (7 votes)


Piece of Junk

14 Feb 2009 - Chocolate of NJ, US writes:

My personal experience with the produce was not favorable. It is very hollow and you have to be careful not to pedal so fast because it will begin to tip over. I do not have any pros about the machine. It is not a good machine. I rather just spend the cash to get a more sturdy one that will last. The machine is not a good affordable machine. It should be $20.00.


Review Quality: Helpful  (7 votes) | Unhelpful  (5 votes)


Go to BBB

31 Jan 2009 - Amee of Florida, , USA writes:

UPDATE: I went to their main page/Thane. On the right upper corner you will see the BBB logo. Click on it. Then instead of complaining of this useless product, you can inform BBB about the low quality of it. That it is what I did, and I got all my money back. Maybe if everybody complains, Thane will stop selling th Orbitrek. Good luck!!!!


Review Quality: Helpful  (6 votes) | Unhelpful  (4 votes)


Dont Buy!! Broke after one month

26 Jan 2009 - Rebecca of California, USA writes:

The Orbitrek Elite is a piece of junk. We bought one, it broke after a month and a half, bought another one, only to have the new one break as well (in a different place) after two months. We tried to maintain the second one by constantly tightening the bolts (recommended, but a real pain) but it was a crank on the interior of the body (couldnt be tightened) that broke on the second machine. When we tried to get our money back, they refused, and offered to send a replacement machine, for another $65. Forget it. Not worth even $65. The orbitrek may be much cheaper than other elipticals, but its still a total waste of hundreds of dollars because its such a piece of junk.


Review Quality: Helpful  (8 votes) | Unhelpful  (5 votes)


Older Reviews Should Maybe Carry a Disclaimer...

7 Jan 2009 - Howie of California, USA writes:

I've been a little wary of most of the reviews here. It's much more common to find complaints in reviews than positive feedback. That being said, I don't disagree with many of them, but I would like to state that the more recent OrbiTrek Elite may well be better constructed and stronger than the previous OrbiTrek Platinum, so some of the earlier reviews might not be justified. But this site only offers reviews under the general OrbiTrek tag, thus lumping them all together. Anyway, this was a bit of a bear to put together. Like many others, the pedal bolt didn't want to fit through the connecting tube unless I really gave it some pressure. Interestingly, it screws tighter going anti-clockwise (lefty-loosey) instead of clockwise (righty-tighty), which made it a little more challenging. Now it's up, admittedly it's working out just fine. No way as solid as a $5000 gym machine, naturally, but stable when you're on it, and I've had no issues with loose bolts or things breaking. It may lack the long stride distance of professional machines, but more than makes up for it in the step-up department, and with no electrical assistance but only your own strength to pull you along, the workout is intense and you certainly feel the burn. This is a $200 machine. I didn't expect miracles, but believe it's a perfectly satisfactory machine. If this changes in the next few months, I'll be sure to come back and amend my review. Good luck, everyone, and please take all negative reviews with a pinch of salt and follow those construction instructions carefully!


Review Quality: Helpful  (11 votes) | Unhelpful  (5 votes)


Need Class Action Lawsuit

20 Dec 2008 - Thom of Maine, USA writes:

UPDATE: I bought an Orbitrek about 6 years ago with a Lifetime warranty. We are now on our 5th or 6th machine as they are poorly made to say the least. Many things have broken but the frame is poorly welded and dangerous. The arm handle on the last machine broke while being used, lacterated my leg and through me to the floor. They sent me a replacement machine but his one as only used minimally for a few months and the welds are becoming very unstable again. I called the company and was told that they no longer will honor the lifetime warranty as they have changed the machine and no longer offer the original one. How convenient. If you read this please do not buy one, it is a waste of your money and you might be injured. The bad part is the machine can deliver a good workout but due to the poor design it just won't last. It really is a piece of junk.


Review Quality: Helpful  (8 votes) | Unhelpful  (8 votes)


A hunk of junk metal that has been painted

18 Dec 2008 - Kim of Ohio, USA writes:

The machine is not user friendly. there was absolutely no help from the makers of the machine but sorry about your luck. Do Not buy or try you will be MAD.


Review Quality: Helpful  (5 votes) | Unhelpful  (5 votes)


Worst piece of equipment ever purchased!

8 Dec 2008 - Michelle of Maryland, USA writes:

DO NOT USE ALL CAPS. I purchased this equipment a little over a year ago. The crank for the right pedal was stripped and now the equipment is not operable. I telephoned the company and they were quick to re-sell me the same equipment again instead of selling me the part (crank). The crank is very easy to strip and the machine is a piece of junk. I'm disappointed that I purchase this product and I advise any and everyone, don't buy a product that has so many problems as the ORBITREK.


Review Quality: Helpful  (11 votes) | Unhelpful  (3 votes)


Do not buy this product!!!!

7 Dec 2008 - Amee of Florida, US writes:

Please be advised, I read all the comments, for Orbitrek review. As I told [], Magnetic Orbitrek since mid 2008. It has been one problem after another. The bolts seemed to loosen letting the two platic pieces making up the wheel seperate, making a whole lot of noise. I tightened the bolts. The problem did not get resolved. The machine I have now, it is the third machine. It continues to make lots of noises. Has to be greased almost everytime I use it. I used an old [] for a very long time. I never had all the problems I am having w/this one. It is noisy & the upper handles, are coming loose all the time. It is very frustrating. Please be advised, I would not recommend any of your products to not even my worst enemy. You are providing a product that it is not well manufactured. And an accidnt waiting to happen. To make it worse the music you use in your DVD, are not in "the swing w/the exercise. Please be advised, I wil be posting this comment w/the others a tFitness informercial review. Well let me state, that I had learnt a lesson, I will never buy another product, from you or any other informacial.


Review Quality: Helpful  (5 votes) | Unhelpful  (7 votes)


Junk!

26 Nov 2008 - Lee of Tennessee, USA writes:

I have owned the Magnetic Orbitrek since June 2008. It has been one problem after another. First the plastic wheel came apart. The bolts seemed to loosen letting the two platic pieces making up the wheel seperate, making a whole lot of noise. I tightened the bolts. Problem solved, right? Wrong! The very next time I used it 20 minutes in and it started clunking again. The bolts had seperated once again. I finaly just took the plastic wheel off because as far as I could tell it was just for looks anyway. The next thing to go was one of the bolts that hold the foot pedals in place. I could not keep it tightened. I would tighten the bolt and work out 20 minutes and have to stop and repeat the tightening. I finally ordered a new bolt set from Orbitrek which was covered by the warranty. Oh I did have to pay $10 bucks or so to cover shipping. I wait for the bolt set to arrive, about two weeks or so. I got the bolt problem solved and thought I was back on the road. Then the thing started making a scrubbing sound and I have since greased everything but still haven't found the problem. Then the bolt on the other side snapped off, this being the bolt that holds the right foot pedal in place. Lucky for me I had the extra bolt from the kit I had ordered to repair the other side. Last but not least the drive belt has started coming off. I have removed the cover for easy access, this because it keeps doing it everytime I use it. This is all since June 2008. Do yourself a favor and run from this elliptical machine. You will no doubt get more health benefits from the run.


Review Quality: Helpful  (5 votes) | Unhelpful  (5 votes)


Not too bad yet!

27 Oct 2008 - Dave of las vegas, u.s.a. writes:

I have had my Orbitrek Elite now for 2 months. Killer cardio, I mean killer. Well it seems that if you assemble the thing properly, and every 5 or ten times of use check the nuts and bolts you shound Not have a problem. I work out 5 times a week on this thing for 15 minutes a workout with no tension(all i can handle so far) in 2 months. Not to mention I an 5'10 235 L.B.S. So if I havent broke it yet??!! After 2 whole months, it still performs like it did when I bought it. Good luck!


Review Quality: Helpful  (8 votes) | Unhelpful  (4 votes)


False Warrenty

10 Sep 2008 - Ron of IN, United States writes:

We purchased an Orbitrek from Thane 5 years ago with a Lifetime warranty. The tension belt broke on the unit and called Thane to get a replacement. They will not honor their warranty, but will be glad to sell us a new unit.


Review Quality: Helpful  (5 votes) | Unhelpful  (7 votes)


WHAT WAS I THINKING?

7 Aug 2008 - LEE of NEVADA, USA. writes:

I purchased my Orbitrek elite with all the bells and whistles for a whopping $346. It was delivered pretty fast, 11 days, got it home, and proceeded to assemble. Its a relatively easy 4 step assembly process, well when I got to step two, connecting the hinge bolts to the cranks, thats when my day was ruined. It tells you in the manual connect the right side hinge bolt to the right crank first, and procced the same with the left. The right side assembled perfectly, but when I got to the left side guess what, the left crank was only partially threaded! So now I have this overpriced piece of equipment that I havent even had a chance to use yet. Oh and did I leave out, the left hinge bolt is stripped out also. Nice birthday gift, I heard contacting these people is a lot of fun also, so we'll see when I call tomarrow.


Review Quality: Helpful  (7 votes) | Unhelpful  (8 votes)


Worst experience ever!

23 Jun 2008 - Susan of South Carolina, USA writes:

It took less than 3 months for my unit to fall apart. It was squeaking terribly and leaving metal shavings on the floor…they said it was some king of gear problem. Within another week, the petal broke off. Even after they admitted that the problems I was having were "rare" and indicated that it was defective to begin with, they insisted that I pay for a replacement unit to be sent. It was completely within their discretion to satisfy my warranty claim in a satisfactory way and they chose to be jerks. They honestly expected me to pay more money to replace a defective product while I was still making payments on the first one. The customer service departments, online and on the phone, bounce you back and forth and all are extremely rude. Horrible quality, horrible customer service, horrible experience...never again


Review Quality: Helpful  (12 votes) | Unhelpful  (5 votes)


Owned on for Years

5 Jun 2008 - Anonymous of GA, USA writes:

For $199 it was money well spent. It was durable and excerises the lower and upper body. Used regularly I lost 2 sizes. Great cardio work out. It is durable and quiet.


Review Quality: Helpful  (9 votes) | Unhelpful  (8 votes)


Orbitrek Elite

12 May 2008 - Amy of OHio, USA writes:

I bought this product 4 months ago and I love it! I think it is great, compact, and easy to use. I use it and my 9 and 11 year old also use it. I am a heavy girl(who is getting lighter thank to this machine!) and I have no fears of it being shakey or rickety while I am on it. I think it is a good buy for the money.


Review Quality: Helpful  (9 votes) | Unhelpful  (7 votes)


Junk and mean customer service

25 Mar 2008 - Laura Grochocki of Illinois, U.S. writes:

This company does not care at ALL about its customers! They are in for a buck. The machine is a piece of junk. DO NOT BUY IT. It falls apart routinely. It is big, bulky, cumbersome and the attachment machine looks like some bizarre flying machine from the future - if you want that in your house - be my guest. I want to sue this company as well for its long list of misrepresentations. There should be a law firm representing customers of fraudulent infomercial companies. These people need to be collectively put out of business. The machine is terrible and probably not at all safe.


Review Quality: Helpful  (7 votes) | Unhelpful  (6 votes)


Junk and mean customer service

25 Mar 2008 - Laura Grochocki of Illinois, U.S. writes:

This company does not care at ALL about its customers! They are in for a buck. The machine is a piece of junk. DO NOT BUY IT. It falls apart routinely. It is big, bulky, cumbersome and the attachment machine looks like some bizarre flying machine from the future - if you want that in your house - be my guest. I want to sue this company as well for its long list of misrepresentations. There should be a law firm representing customers of fraudulent infomercial companies. These people need to be collectively put out of business. The machine is terrible and probably not at all safe.


Review Quality: Helpful  (10 votes) | Unhelpful  (7 votes)


Buyer Beware

21 Jan 2008 - Deborah of New York, USA writes:

Since the late 1990s, I've had 3 Orbitreks, 2 original & the Platinum. The first one broke at the base of the front bar. Thane replaced it. The second one had the same problem. It was replaced with the Platinum and I paid the shipping charges. Added to the bolts needing to be tightened regularly, two weeks ago, while using the Platinum, I heard a noise and the machine felt wobbly. I got scared and got off, and found the that crank shaft was offline (so I thought). Figured I just had to jiggle it and it would go back into the groove. No such luck, I called the company and was told that it cannot be repaired. I will need to get a new one. My options pay a certain amount + shipping and get another Platinum (less than a new one) or if I wanted the Elite, I'll have to pay the full price for that one. I have decided to look at other machines. I should note the following: I weigh 125, and only use the machine when we have really bad weather (rain, snow/ice, extreme cold) as I prefer running/walking outdoors. Positive aspects: You do get a good cardio workout if you stay on it for 20 mins or more (it makes you sweat and gives you a jolt of energy). Negative aspects: noisy, not very sturdy, does not give that cooling breeze when you go forward, handles are awkward, it does not live up to the advertisement. As in baseball - 3 strikes and you're out. I will not be purchasing/using another Orbitrek. I don't believe that it's a safe product. Thank you.


Review Quality: Helpful  (19 votes) | Unhelpful  (9 votes)


BROKE DAY 2

1 Dec 2007 - Janet of Indiana, USA writes:

The right pedal cracked off on this machine on the 2nd day of use. They promised a new pedal, but have never sent it. It is garbage. Anyone interested in a class action lawsuit?


Review Quality: Helpful  (15 votes) | Unhelpful  (7 votes)


Page 1 2 3 4 5 6











0) { ?>
Merchant Price*  

*prices may vary




Home | Advertise | Product Request | Blog | Press Room | Contact Terms