Tell a Friend | Reviews A to Z


Total Gym Reviews and Product Ratings

Review this product.


Company Name
Fitness Quest, Inc.


Product Claims
Total Gym allows you to train with natural multi-plane movements, working the large muscles synergistically against gravity. Recruiting the stabilizer muscles in nearly every exercise, you stretch and flex your way through a full body workout in as little as 20 minutes a day. This is functional exercise; it mimics the way you function in life, creating a superior body and superior physical performance.


Average Retail Value
$119.95 (prices may vary)


Similar Products
Neo Shaper | One Gym


Consumer Reviews

Could not believe Chuck Norris endorses this.

25 Oct 2008 - Bhanuprakash of CA, USA writes:

I bought this equipment after Chuck Norris many a times in the infomercial. I tried it a few times. It is just not what is shown as. I returned it. I could not believe for weeks that Chuck Norris has endorsed a thing like this one. I am just not happy about this one.


Review Quality: Helpful  (5 votes) | Unhelpful  (7 votes)


It Works

21 May 2008 - Allan of California, USA writes:

I've been using my TG XLS for about 30 minutes a day four days a week for about 6 months. I've seen a big diffference in my body shape and have lost 25 pounds. The weight lose is because of nutrician changes and the better shape is from the TG. I use my own workout now (not the DVD) and changes to the equipment add only about 30 seconds to my workout. Using free weights in the past have always left me with a sore back, but this hasn't becaome a problem on my TG. This is the first exercise program I've ever been able to stick with this long and I see myself sticking with this for years to come. It can provide an easy or hard workout, it's up to you. As my strength increases, I add weights as I work myself up to the next level. For me, the weight bar and dip attachments are a necessary accessory.


Review Quality: Helpful  (9 votes) | Unhelpful  (7 votes)


total gym 11000(now 14000)

6 Apr 2008 - Dave of ca, usa writes:

Ok, this is the real deal from a guy who has used the bowflex and freeweights and machines. I bought the Totalgym from EFi and not the informercial. I have owned the Bowflex and gave it several months to actually try it out and give it a fair opinion. first of all , the feel is horrible and springy, I never did get used to it. Pressing exercises are ok, pulling feel funny to me. I am 46 now and freewieghts are not really the main workout anymore due to the pain in my joints and shoulder, I do not have that problem with the Totalgym. I agree that it is not for the serious bodybuilder , but you can build a nice fit body and put on some muscle thats for sure, actually I look better now them when I was using free wieghts. the machine is super smooth and the quality is top notch. the amount of exercises are many and I never bore of it.I do pushups and other bodywieght stuff as well but the totalgym is my main machine. Customer service is top notch. very nice people. do not buy from the informercial . the EFi company puts out a superior machine and costs less as well. the fact that it doesnt have a back rest is done on purpose. You use your core on most execises and you work it hard ,this machine is more versitile that any machine on the market. you can add weights if you want for squats and other things,I dont really, I just want to be healthy and look fit and look more like an athelete than a bodybuilder,although I think you can build a bodybuilders physique if you work out right and eat well. I recomend thid machine highly. Check out the EFi website and see what is what,.. the complaints I read about are about the store bought machines that do not do justice to the real deal. No i do not work for Total gym, I just apreciate what it does for me. Dave


Review Quality: Helpful  (6 votes) | Unhelpful  (9 votes)


Too Much Change

2 Feb 2008 - Ronda of Illinois, USA writes:

I bought this with all the extras. I can say is make sure you have a lot of room it is very long,it is heavy for a woman to move so you will probably leave it out or in the closet, another concern about the product was that I could not get a good routine going to keep me heart beat up brcause I was constantly changing cords,bars etc. It seems like I did more changing into ankle straps,pull up bars,heights on the machine from arms to legs than I did actually work out! I ended up selling it and go a stationary bike and just work out with my weights the old fashioned way! I would not recommend this to someone who wants a nice fluent workout. They don't show you on the infomercials actually changing the machine and moving it on carpet. They just show the moves which are fine once your there!


Review Quality: Helpful  (13 votes) | Unhelpful  (5 votes)


Works well, but there are many models

4 Jan 2008 - Stephen of Nevada, USA writes:

I purchased a used model 2000, which was the first TV infomercial model. I owned it for about 2 years and had to sell it when I moved across the country. This model first sold for around $400 and then went up to perhaps $600. It worked well for me. You should be aware that 3 different companies make and sell many different models. The 2nd infomercial model was the 3000 and sold for around $700 or $800 and was around $1000 before the next model (XL perhaps) replaced it. Many other model numbers and model names (1000, Pro, etc., etc.) are much cheaper units that typically have retailed for around $225 to $300 in sporting goods stores. There have also been expensive models sold by the main company...models 1100, 1400, 11000, 14000...and others. Many of these do not fold up, but they are of high quality. Make sure you don't pay a lot of money for a cheap model. The amount they want for their current TV unit is rediculous. Try to find a used one.


Review Quality: Helpful  (13 votes) | Unhelpful  (7 votes)


i love this machine.........that a first

28 Jul 2007 - Nikki of South Carolina, USA writes:

i just got my total gym xl last week and i have to say i love the way it make me feel. I'm not big on exercise but know it a must. I wake up everyday can't waiting to use it, But like i said i only had it for a week so time will tell i mainly brought it to lose weight, so we shall see. The only thing they lied about was it being a space saver. this is not true! it heavy as well, but other then that con it a nice piece of machine.


Review Quality: Helpful  (12 votes) | Unhelpful  (7 votes)


Total Gym user for 25 years

3 Jun 2007 - Bruce of Georgia, USA writes:

I have used a TG for decades. I have the heavy duty model originally manufactured by West Bend. It is big and heavy and best suited for a professional gym or serious home gym - which I have. I've tried some of the lower end TG's and the rolling action is poor and the units feel flimsy. Spend the money for one of the higher end models. You can find them at auction sites and used equipment stores. This is a very good piece of excercise equipment you can use for life.


Review Quality: Helpful  (18 votes) | Unhelpful  (11 votes)


TG 1100 Rehab Center Model

13 May 2007 - Eugene of Illinois, USA writes:

Hello Team: I have owned the above model for nearly 4 years. I must say that it is very durable, & well built. I purchased that model for the stability and & live loads that is would support (me & additional weight). This machine is great, the website exercise pictures are great. I get a good work out every time. I do find it a little challanging to do good trianing on the back of my knees. Over all, it works. I am looking for body tone, not bulk. The exercises on this machine apply to real life body movement, so your total body improves faster compared isolated exercises. Lastly, but not least the TG Group has been on the for front for many years w/ their exercise machine concept. I now see different cable varation machines in health clubs more & more. Simple put; when i use my Total Gym, i feel better.


Review Quality: Helpful  (11 votes) | Unhelpful  (11 votes)


Good supplemental unit

20 Mar 2007 - David of Oregon, USA writes:

I've used a Total Gym 1000 for four years. I had chipped my humerus and had a slight tear on my rotator cuff from a fall. The therapy center I went to had several Total Gym's for use in range-of-motion exercices, and in that application they work quite. The "weight" applied to each exercise is actually dependant on the angle of the bench and your own body weight. It helps with stretching muscles, range of motion and muscle toning. Don't count on it for cardio or bulking up. All in all, this is a well-designed machine that serves the purposes stated above. The cons are that it does get pretty long when it's folded out, you can pinch your fingers foldling it if you're not careful (this will only happen once, trust me), and it's a bit awkward to move around. All in all, a decent unit. No rip-offs here.


Review Quality: Helpful  (21 votes) | Unhelpful  (9 votes)


Resistance

4 Mar 2007 - Emily of Michigan, USA writes:

I was excited to use the total gym for some of the pilates workouts, but it was a bit difficult to get enough resistance for many of my pilates moves. Since there are no springs, you have to add incline in order to get more resistance.


Review Quality: Helpful  (17 votes) | Unhelpful  (10 votes)


Total Gym XL

2 Feb 2007 - Alan of Georgia, USA writes:

Recently bought a Total Gym XL from [] for $100.00. Yea it's a little long, but I get the workout I want. I can even add weights as needed


Review Quality: Helpful  (16 votes) | Unhelpful  (21 votes)


Good, but...

6 Nov 2006 - Linda of Texas, USA writes:

Just want to warn people that the machine is really, really long. It can be very hard to find a place to use it, especially if you want to keep it set up somewhere. And to fold it up, you have to lay it completely flat first, which makes it even longer than it is when you use it. Other than that, I liked it fine and I had the rock, bottom cheapest version. The first model they sold for home use.


Review Quality: Helpful  (16 votes) | Unhelpful  (13 votes)


This product is worth every penny!

1 Nov 2006 - Judy of Washington, USA writes:

I am a 59 year old female who has had a bad back since my 30's. I had tried many exercise tapes and equipment. I finally bought a Total Gym approxiamtely 7 years ago. I am still using it today and am amazed at the number of exercies I can do safely. The one thing I wanted everyone to know Their Customer Service Is Excellent. I use mine about 3 times a week. The commercial says life time warranty, but I have heard that before. I had a small problem on the back of the stand. I called and they said it was not fixable and were sending me a new Total Gym. I could not beleive it. I was a little worried as to what I might get as there are several types out there. I received it in just over a week and was so surprised. It was even nicer than my original. I cannot say enough about this product.


Review Quality: Helpful  (25 votes) | Unhelpful  (16 votes)


Good product.

23 Sep 2006 - Larry of Kentucky, USA writes:

Several years ago I bought the Model 2000. At that time it was a little over %600.00. Seemed a little high but I took the chance, glad I did. The machine really gives the work out that I evpected. Now and then I recieve some E-Mail from Total Gym. when I reply to find out about upgrades I never hear anything back. Some ad ons I would be interested in but can never get a response. Any help out there.


Review Quality: Helpful  (12 votes) | Unhelpful  (15 votes)


Total Gym Complications

8 Sep 2006 - Tiari of Ohio, USA writes:

The total gym is a good machine to own. But if your like me and don't like complications just to work out this machine is not for you. The changing of cables and hand grips and levels double the time of your workout. I've tried several times to get the pattern down but for the last year my total gym has sat used infrequently because I don't want the hassle.


Review Quality: Helpful  (18 votes) | Unhelpful  (16 votes)


Total Gym concept effective

2 Jul 2006 - Keith of Virginia, USA writes:

We found a yard sale TG 1000 for $15. It is set up in our family room. We often workout while watching TV. Being mildly diabetic, exercise is essential to maintaining general health. The TG is helpful. I can use it late at night without disturbing the rest of the household. A reasonable workout can be done in 15-30 minutes. Working fast circuits can work up a sweat and stress muscles enough to maintain and improve tone. I like the low joint impact aspect. Most knee and shoulder stresses are eliminated with TG routines. I like the creative versatility inherent in the exercises. Emphasis is on upper body tone and the lower body exercises are lacking. A couple of adjustable dumbells are helpful. This bottom line model is sturdy enough, but is prone to roller and cable wear. [] ([] Total Gym Parts) sells improved parts kits. Within it's limits, the TG lives up to most of the TV hype.


Review Quality: Helpful  (14 votes) | Unhelpful  (13 votes)


The older 11000 is incredable

27 May 2006 - Keith of Colorado, USA writes:

I have wanted a TG for a long time, Well I realy lucked out. I was in a used sports store and they had a 11000 that looked new, with all the extra atachments for $280.00. I talked the young sales man into giving it to me for $224.00. I went online and saw that it sold in 01 for $1200.00. What a great deal I got on a incredable mecheine. I have only using it about a week now. It fun and it feals great to use. I would like to buy the workout dvd. I have a few joint problems so I will go slow to get use to the motions. I think that I will be able to use the TG with no problems with my joints. As the saying goes, Good things come to those who wait.


Review Quality: Helpful  (15 votes) | Unhelpful  (11 votes)


Better than a Bowflex!

8 Apr 2006 - Diane of New Jersey, USA writes:

I had the Bowflex Xtreme2. I sold it and bought a Total Gym XL when I saw how many more exercises there were for women to tone and strenghten. I never got any results with the Bowflex. There are 6 workouts that come with it and you won't get bored.(the bowflex comes with a wall chart and a manual..wow.) The best decision I've ever made in bome equipment.


Review Quality: Helpful  (15 votes) | Unhelpful  (12 votes)


Valuable

7 Feb 2006 - Edgar of South Carolina, USA writes:

I bought the Total Gym approximately 7 years ago. I paid over $600.00. I ordered it off of of T.V. from a commercial with Chuck Norris on it that offered optional monthly credit card payments. About two months later, I saw it in a department store for about $250.00. More important, I still use mine today. It is an excellent unit for working out and tuning your muscles. I am worried that my cables are old and that they may pop someday. The Total Gym was worth every bit of my six hundred plus dollars. If you can get it for under $180.00, go for it!


Review Quality: Helpful  (13 votes) | Unhelpful  (14 votes)


9 Jan 2006 - Dave of Pennsylvania, USA writes:

I have had my total gym for 4 years now. It lives up to its name. I use it 6 days a week, I am 39 years old, and with proper nutrition and using the total gym I have developed a lean muscular body. I have had to replace the cables twice in 4 years. I have found a web site that offers a superior quality. Like with any equipment if you follow the maintenance advice in the owners manual, this machine will last for years. The work outs are great any one that doubts this machine, come on over to my house and work out with me and I will make you a believer.


Review Quality: Helpful  (15 votes) | Unhelpful  (13 votes)


Page 1 2 3















Home | Advertise | Product Request | Blog | Press Room | Contact Terms